The Board of Directors has elected Dr. Lori Wirth as the new chair of ITOG. She will serve a three-year term. Dr. Wirth previously chaired the Protocol Committee, the group responsible for selecting ITOG clinical trials, and also served as ITOG Secretary. Dr. Wirth is the Medical Director of the Center for Head and Neck Cancers at Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Manisha Shah, an oncologist at Ohio State University, joins the Executive Committee as the newly elected ITOG Secretary. Dr. Shah was previously chair of the Membership Committee and served on the Protocol Committee, all while opening ITOG’s first clinical trial. The ITOG Board expanded the Executive Committee to include the Chair of the Protocol Committee.

Dr. David Pfister was elected the Protocol Chair. Dr. Pfister previously chaired the Nominating Committee and the Anaplastic Cancer Task Force. He is Chief of the Head and Neck Oncology Service at Memorial Sloan Kettering in New York, NY.

Dr. Julie Ann Sosa, Chief of Endocrine Surgery at Duke University, was elected as the newest member of the ITOG Board of Directors.  She succeeded Dr. Robert Smallridge, who completed an outstanding two terms on the Board and still serves as the Chair of the Finance Committee.

ITOG recognized the exceptional leadership of its outgoing chair, Dr. Steve Sherman, at the Annual Meeting. Dr. Sherman’s vision of a more formal organizational structure for ITOG was successful in bringing greater involvement from ITOG membership, which nearly tripled during his tenure to the current roster of 70 of the best scientists and physicians focused on thyroid cancer. Moreover, ITOG initiated its partnership with Academic and Community Cancer Research United (ACCRU), fully accrued its first clinical trial, opened its second clinical trial, and improved cooperation with our international colleagues under his leadership. Dr. Sherman was one of the original founders of ITOG and previously contributed his many talents as Treasurer, Secretary and Board member. Beyond all of these significant achievements, Dr. Sherman has been an innovator, leading by example as an endocrinologist who performed clinical trials with novel systemic therapies at MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dr. Sherman will remain on the Executive Committee for one more year.