ITOG Membership Doubles in 2012

December, 2012. The International Thyroid Oncology Group (ITOG) has completed a major period of membership expansion, doubling its membership. ITOG members hail from 29 leading academic medical institutions on three continents. ITOG counts numerous leading European thyroid specialists among its membership. ITOG members are drawn from every aspect of clinical, pathological, and scientific disciplines to assemble a “dream-team” of specialists for thyroid cancer. ITOG members are united by the belief that working together is the only way to catalyze a cure for thyroid cancer.

Philanthropy Reaches $1,000,000

Megan Larkin Curry and her mother Maureen Larkin

December, 2012: ITOG records its best year to date in fund raising. Since its inception in 2007, donations to ITOG have primarily come from individuals who have been personally affected by thyroid cancer. The Larkin Family, pictured, have raised over $80,000 for ITOG through its annual Kel Klassic golf tournament. “Team Jean” reached $100,000 in donations this year. Please contact Dwight Vicks, ITOG Treasurer, if you would like to make a donation and help ITOG catalyze a cure for thyroid cancer. ITOG is a driving force leading advancements in... Continue reading

ITOG Elects New Leadership

April, 2012: Dr. Steven I. Sherman of MD Anderson Cancer Center was re-elected as ITOG Chairman after an extraordinary year of leadership. Dr. Sherman’s first year as Chairman was notable for leading a partnership agreement with ACCRU, and activating the Clinical Protocol and Correlative Science Committees. Dr. Sherman will be joined on the Executive Committee by Dr. Lori Wirth, who was elected as Secretary.  Dr. Wirth is the Director, Head & Neck Oncology at Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Wirth also serves as Chair of the ITOG Clinical Protocols Committee, the committee charged... Continue reading

2012 ITOG Annual Meeting: Innovation and Inspiration

ITOG founding members honored at 2012 Annual Meeting

April 2012: Drs. Manisha Shah and Matt Ringel hosted the 2012 Annual Meeting at The Ohio State University College of Medicine on April 29-30th. This annual event has become a critical event for ITOG members to share the latest clinical and scientific results and to prioritize the direction of future clinical and research studies.  ITOG is characterized by a strong commitment to collaboration in order to advance our mission.  The 2013 ITOG Annual Meeting will be hosted by ITOG members: Drs. Bible, Bernet, Menefee and Smallridge of the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.

ITOG Enters Collaborative Agreement With ACCRU to Perform Clinical Trials

ITOG leaders sign Collaborative Agreement with ACCRU.

March, 2012: The ITOG Board of Directors endorsed a partnership with Academic and Community Cancer Research United (ACCRU) an affiliate of Mayo Clinic, Rochester, to conduct clinical trials.  ACCRU was selected after an extensive search to identify a partner to provide robust infrastructure necessary for thyroid cancer clinical trials. ITOG’s focus on clinical trials is an effort to build on recent success and bring new targeted therapies to thyroid cancer patients with advanced disease.  The timing of this agreement is ideal. ITOG has received approval from the National Cancer Institute (... Continue reading



International Thyroid Oncology Group
5166 Commercial Drive
Yorkville, New York 13495