The 13th Annual Meeting of the International Thyroid Oncology Group  convened May 3-5 in New York City, NY, hosted by Weill Cornell Medical College and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.  The Program Committee was comprised of several ITOG members, including Eric Sherman, Yariv Houvras, Alan Ho, Michael Tuttle, and David Pfister.  This scientific meeting drew upon experts in cancer research from around the world to collaborate, network, and share their exciting research findings and ideas.  ITOG members presented their data on active clinical trials and basic science research while finalizing details for upcoming ITOG-sponsored clinical trials.  Additionally, invited faculty from around the world provided their insights and research findings to stimulate discussion of future directions for thyroid cancer research. 

It was announced that the 14th Annual Meeting will be held in Paris, France at the Institut Gustave Roussy May 13-15, 2020 and hosted by Dr. Sophie Leboulleux and her team. 

ITOG 2019 Annual Meeting Group Photo

Saturday, May 4th
TIME Talk Title Speaker
8:00-8:15 Welcome David Pfister, MD
8:15-9:00 Keynote I: Immune checkpoint inhibitors: identifying the responders and non-responders Jedd Wolchok, MD
9:00-10:30 SESSION I: Immunotherapy Task Force Co-Leaders: Ezra Cohen, Bryan Haugen, Mabel Ryder    Moderator: Mabel Ryder, MD
9:00-9:20 Tumor-infiltrating lymphocyte (TIL) therapies in solid tumors: promises and pitfalls Jena French, PhD
9:20-9:40 The role of MDSCs and TMAs in genetic mouse models of advanced thyroid cancer Jeff Knauf, MD
9:40-9:50 Update on lenvatinib/pembrolizumab trial Bryan Haugen, MD
9:50-10:00 Update on RAI + Immunotherapy trial Alan Ho, MD, PhD
10:00-10:10 Update on SBRT + Ipilimumab trial Ramona Dadu, MD
10:10-10:20   Proposed cabozantinib/ipilimumab/nivolumab trial in thyroid cancer Manisha Shah, MD
10:20-10:30 Discussion
10:30-11:00 Coffee Break
TIME SESSION II: Hurthle Cell Cancer Task Force Co-Leaders: Jochen Lorch, John Ridge, Eric Sherman    Speaker
11:00-11:25   Protein homeostasis and targeting John Wright, MD, PhD       
11:25-11:50 Genomics of Hurthle Cell thyroid cancer Raj Gopal, MD
11:50-12:05 mTOR inhibition in Hurthle cell thyroid cancers Jochen Lorch, MD
12:05-12:10 Update on ALLIANCE study in Hurthle Cell thyroid cancer Eric Sherman, MD
12:10-12:15 HSP90 inhibitor John Ridge, MD, PhD
12:15-12:30 Discussion
12:30-2:00 Lunch/Business Meeting (Business meeting open to ITOG members only)
TIME SESSION III: ITOG Registry Task Force Co-Leaders: Elizabeth Grubbs, Thomas Giordano, Cosimo Durante          Speaker   
2:00-2:30  BMC Thyroid Cancer Registry (ThyroCARE) Stephanie Lee, MD, PhD
2:30-2:50 International Melanoma Database and Discovery Platform: Sharing lessions learned with ITOG Jeffrey Gershenwald, MD
2:50-3:10 Opportunities for using real world evidence in registry efforts Shrujal Baxi, MD, MPH
3:10-3:30 Discussion
3:30-4:00 Coffee Break
TIME SESSION IV: Anaplastic Cancer Task Force Co-Leaders: Keith Bible, Marcia Brose, Maria Cabanillas Speaker
4:00-4:15 Approaches to initial therapy for ATC: Neoadjuvant approaches to ATC combining targeted approaches with subsequent surgical resection Mark Zafereo, MD
4:15-4:30 Novel systemic therapeutic approaches to advanced ATC: Cross-talk between machrophages and immune checkpoint regulation in ATC -- therapeutic implications Miles Miller, MD
4:30-4:55 First-line chemotherapy with lurbinaectin/doxorubicin TAM-targeted immunotherapy combining anti-PD1 with anti-CSF1R therapies Julien Hadoux, MD
4:55-5:15 STRN-ALK/TP53KO model of step-wise differentiation of thyroid cancer Yuri Nikiforov, MD       
5:15-5:30 Discussion
5:30-6:30 Reception

Dinner speakers: Thomas Fahey, MD-History of MSKCC

Dwight Vicks, MBA-Welcome REACT (Donna LeBeau, Kimberly Caplea)

Manisha Shah, MD-ITOG Awards

TIME Session Speaker
8:00-8:45 Keynote II: Functional genomics and novel therapeutic vulnerabilities of advanced thyroid cancer James Fagin, MD
8:45-10:30 SESSION V: Papillary Carcinoma Task Force Co-Leaders: James Fagin, Alan Ho, Mingxhao Xing   Moderator: Alan Ho, MD, PhD
8:45-9:15 Development of BRAF-Targeted Strategies
8:45-8:55 Setting the stage: BRAF-inhibition in DTC Marcia Brose, MD, PhD
8:55-9:05 Update on results of randomized phase II trial of dabrafenib +/- trametinib in BRAF-mutated PTC Manisha Shah, MD
9:05-9:15 Targeting Her3-mediated intrinsic resistance to BRAF targeting in BRAF-mutant PTC Eric Sherman, MD
9:15-9:35 Developmental therapeutics beyond the first-line
9:15-9:25 Beyond the first-line: the COSMIC-311 trial Marcia Brose, MD
9:25-9:35 Neoadjuvant lenvatinib for advanced locally invasive DTC-margins and degree of resection Gregory Randolph, MD
9:35-10:05 Redifferentiation Strategies
9:35-9:45 Building on MAPK-targeted redifferentiation: Progress and future directions Alan Ho, MD
9:45-9:55 Combined BRAF-MEK inhibition as a redifferentiation strategy for BRAF-mutant RAIR patients Lori Wirth, MD
9:55-10:05 Combining dabrafenib and trametinib for redifferentiation of BRAF-mutant RAIR patients Sophie Leboulleux, MD
10:05-10:30 Discussion
10:30-11:00 Coffee Break
TIME SESSION VI: Medullary Cancer Task Force Co-Leaders: Rossella Elisei, Matthew Ringel, Lori Wirth Speaker
11:00-11:05 Current state of the field Barry Nelkin, MD
11:05-11:20 Drug discovery of novel RET inhibitors Ross Cagan, MD
11:20-11:35 Proteomics in MTC Wayne Miles, MD
11:35-11:50 Mitochondrial metabolism in MTC Jong-In Park, MD
11:50-12:05 NGS genetic testing in MTC Rosella Elisei, MD
12:05-12:20 Trial for MTC with rapid CTN/CEA doubling Mimi Hu, MD
12:20-12:30 Discussion, Closing remarks